Funnies: Lipstick Essentials

Fall season is fast approaching and you’re probably looking forward to shopping the new lipsticks and glosses to complement the breezy weather.  Look no further.  The men on the ATP show us how it’s done.

Pretty in pink: A bubble-gum pink gloss draws attention to green/blue eyes and works perfectly with this season’s red jerseys and peacoats.  The bright reds and oranges in your outfit call for a sugary pink tone for the lips. It’s a nostalgic throwback to earlier days.

Try: Dior in Sari Pink

***

Rose stain: If you have fuller lips, combined with big eyes and/or a large nose (see: left photo), shimmery lip glosses will only overwhelm your facial features.  A sheer wine-colored lip stain is better.  It screams “ilusión of seductive understatement.” Perfect for fall.               

Try: Stila Lip & Cheek Stain in Pomegranate Crush

***

Well, well: Moving right along.

Try: Smith’s Rosebud Salve (“This cult-favorite, multi-purpose lip balm soothes dry lips, calms and heals irritation, and soothes the sting of minor burns … Also an excellent remedy for the treatment of diaper rash”)

***

Less is more: Autumn calls for a simple elegance that relies on warm colors, such as camel and chestnut brown.  For those days when you’d rather show off your strong eyebrows, a matte beige palette for the lips works perfectly to highlight your enigmatic persona. You let your eyes and occasional smile do all the talking.

Try:  Shiseido Perfect Rouge in Dune

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Funnies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Funnies: Lipstick Essentials

  1. Michal says:

    Hey! I realize this is somewhat off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does running a well-established blog such as yours take a
    lot of work? I am brand new to running a blog however I do write in my diary everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.

    Thankyou!

  2. Pingback: USO: Last Minute Casting Change in R1 | mariposaxprs

  3. ariennalee says:

    Ha! I’m so glad I just read this post. In this day in the digital age, where they can make 60 year old women look 20, I can not understand how the ATP could post such terrible photos. Now I know. They’re hawking ladies cosmetics on the side.

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Sorry for the late reply, I just now noticed I missed ur comment >_< These photos are so bad. When they can make Feli look old and haggard, you know something's wrong with the overall production. Lol for hawking ladies cosmetics. Maybe a smoky-eye theme for next year, w/heavy eyeliner? That sounds like a cosmetic ATP disaster waiting to happen…

  4. LOL! When I saw Rafa’s picture, I thought it looked like he was wearing lipstick! Now I realize they all do! Looks like one of the tennis players is selling Mary Kay.

    • mariposaxprs says:

      YES, Mary Kay should definitely look into endorsement opportunities here! It’s a goldmine. Is it a sign of the times when the ATP players are better at advertising lipstick than the WTA?

  5. Pingback: Up-Side/Down-Side « Querido Rafa

  6. queridorafa says:

    Oh geez…I’m making embarrassing snorting noises at my desk. This is infinitely funny. And accurate! I knew there was SOMETHING off about those pics–and you have pinpointed it! My favorite: “Well, well: Moving right along.” Poor Muzzard–he seriously reminds me of that kid in kindergarten who always had chapped lips and/or juice stains all over his mouth. The unkempt hair doesn’t exactly help his case either!

    Seriously, though–why did the ATP take pics of sweaty, sweaty players! The forehead sheen in T-Berd’s picture is practically blinding! At the very least, they could have re-touched!

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Haha thanks! That picture of Murray is seriously the worst one I’ve seen, and I thought I’d seen a lot of bad photos of him. ROFL at the “juice stains all over his mouth,” I wish I could unsee that image in my mind. Oh wait, it’s on the ATP site…

      T-Berd’s picture and all other others with sweaty foreheads require a whole additional post about the benefits of astringent toners for oily skin. Poor photographer couldn’t find a paper towel or Clean & Clean oil wipes to “prepare” these tennis players for their photos. It’s curious how they managed to photoshop Dolgopolov’s skin though, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

