A Story of Beijing & Tokyo

So Twitter is down, which means I’ll be recapping the matches over here.

1:33pm: Tomic v Fish.  “Bernie Tomic is a junkballer.”  I’ve heard that so many times and now that I’m watching him play, I understand it.  It’s not to say he’s untalented, because the 18-yr old has talent in spades. I just abhor the BH slices—whenever I see a player resort to endless BH slices, I sense they’re short on ideas.  Currently at a set-all.

1:35pm: Switching over to Beijing, where Berdych v Verdasco is about to start.  Giggle.  Snort.  For the record, I love watching both players when they’re on.  Which may explain why I’ve lost track of them since the beginning of this year.  I’m picking Berdych to take this.  Fernando’s dressed like a plum today.  Goodness, Berdych has a goatee?!  I change my mind.  Fernando, please win this today.  You can do it!

Twitter’s on again so I must depart.  I actually won’t be able to watch any of these matches in their entirety, but I ask any/all readers to send good feelings to Tomic and Fernando!  Fer was up a break and then promptly got broken back.  See, it’s fun already!

Papa Verdasco watches Fer in Beijing

3:30pm (Update): After holding on so well, Tomic lost the third set 6-1 to Fish.  As for Fer, he managed 1 game total in a 6-1, 6-0 loss to Berdych.  Clearly, my mid-match recaps are not good for tennis.  Also, Fernando?  I think it’s time you found a proper full-time coach.  Your serve was not working today, but your shot-making was poor as well.  A coach may not solve all those problems, but he/she could only help you at this point.

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Tennis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Story of Beijing & Tokyo

  1. ariennalee says:

    I am in complete agreement with you about Tomic. I’m fond of agreeing with Darren Cahill on the general principle that he’s adorable and says smart factual stuff, but I have to differ with his assessment of Bernie’s talent. I think he might be letting his homeland bias get the best of him 🙂 It’s not the Tomic isn’t talented, but it’s such ugly talent. “Mixing it up” is not the same thing as “junk.”

    Also, he puts me to sleep. Okay, so Gilles does that too sometimes, but I always forgive Gilles because he’s got graceful pluck.

    And yes, Fer definitely, definitely needs a coach. And maybe a sports psychologist too!

    • mariposaxprs says:

      I agree with your assessment of Mr. Cahill the Killer—I love his intelligent (neutral) presence and commentary, which makes his occasional “Aussie-Aussie!” or “Adidas-Adidas!” cheers a bit overbearing. As for Bernie, I was of two minds about him after Wimbledon. Yes, he defeated Soderling but Soderling was also ‘this’ close to vomiting during the match and was clearly off his game. Tomic’s junkballing is also a big question mark. Clearly, opponents don’t know how to react to it but once they learn to anticipate it, what lies in store for Bernie’s game then?

      Lol Gilles can be grating to watch sometimes, but he has an intelligence about him that makes you feel that the endless rally you’re watching of his is actually going to lead to something. Perhaps Bernie could take a little direction from Gilles on this front? 🙂

      • ariennalee says:

        Good point! I’ve been worrying about the day when I might have to watch a lot more Bernie, but you’re right, they’ll all figure him out and I won’t fall asleep during matches.

        I think that a player would have to have some serious wheels to mimic Gillies. He’s fleet of foot, that one!

Leave a Reply

