Way Back When: Rafa Blogs from Roland Garros in 2006

The ATP site used to feature tennis player blogs from different tournaments.  It’s a shame they don’t update them anymore.  I was reminded of it when Nadal posted a photo of himself training in Mallorca with Frederico Silva, a 16-year old from Portugal.

At Roland Garros in 2006, Nadal wrote about his day for the ATP blog:

I warmed up again with Martin del Potro.  For those of you who don’t know him, he is a very tall Argentinean player that plays really good.  I think he is over 1m 90.  You will hear that name in the future.  He left today to Buenos Aires so I am changing tomorrow to another partner to hit with.

Actually Rafa, he is almost 2m tall and by now you know his name is Juan Martin, not Martin.  I get it though, you were defending champion that year (and almost every year after that), thus too busy to take down names 😉

The younger hitting partners must relish the chance to hit with a top player.  2006 was a full two years before JMDP’s breakout year.  It seems Nadal had a canny eye for spotting DelPo’s potential at 17-years old.  It’s also reassuring to see a talented junior make the successful leap to the ATP tour.  I find it curious when a top junior ends up struggling on the pro tour.  Nadal was quite the opposite case and JMDP made a successful transition himself.  Let’s keep an eye out for Frederico Silva from Portugal in the coming years.  If that is, in fact, his real name.  It could well be Luis-Frederico or Gustavo-Frederico.

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Tennis, Way Back When and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Way Back When: Rafa Blogs from Roland Garros in 2006

  1. M says:

    I love those old blogs of Rafa’s. What a great find. 🙂 Sasha has also written a couple; I’m trying to remember where I saw them (they were fairly recent).

    “If they ever decide to shorten the tennis season, the ATP should demand that players write these blogs again as a compromise. That I will fully support!”

    LOL. Me too.

    • mariposaxprs says:

      We should start a campaign, right? Those blogs were the only way to hear from players who don’t have Twitter/Facebook (aka tennis players who don’t know how to use Internet). Rafa’s Roland Garros blogs were a highlight, since he’d cover the entire two weeks in Paris.

      Someone mentioned Tommy Robredo’s old blog was hilarious, b/c he writes every thought that crosses his mind from morning to night. It’s kind of a disaster, which made it funny(?) I should try to find that one soon, for observation 🙂

  2. queridorafa says:

    LOL–I’m pretty sure you’re right, it’s Gustavo-Frederico. Omg, I love those old blogs so much! I was not closely following tennis when they first came out, so I played catch-up a couple of years ago (now those were some productive afternoons… 😉 )

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Those old blogs were a gold mine for fun information. Even though I know the ATP basically forced players to write blogs, I enjoyed reading them very much. I too wasn’t a close follower of tennis when the blogs were actually written! They turned out to be fun educational reading at work during ‘downtime’ 😀 Soon, I was hooked on watching matches and keeping up with the latest news. If they ever decide to shorten the tennis season, the ATP should demand that players write these blogs again as a compromise. That I will fully support!

Leave a Reply

