Funnies: Baseline Séance

I don’t know what’s happening in this photo.  Apparently, it was taken during Stepanek/Del Potro’s SF loss to Mirnyi/Nestor in Vienna.

Del Potro meditates in front of the invisible campfire while Stepanek stares and laughs (Photo: Erste Bank Open)

If joint meditation sessions are a part of successful team-building, why not?  Question: Is Del Potro chanting goodbye to kindred spirits that reside on the baseline?  Does he need to do that before venturing to the net?  This could be a new routine.  I wonder what Steps could have said to JMDP that he’s closed his eyes already.

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Funnies, Tennis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Funnies: Baseline Séance

  1. Pingback: Davis Cup: ARG Win One Point Before Entering “Super Saturday” | mariposaxprs

  2. Pingback: DelPo-Dulko to Play Mixed Doubles at the Olympics! | mariposaxprs

  3. queridorafa says:

    Haha–I was going to say they reminded me of two girl scouts gathered ’round the campfire…then I saw the caption! I’m just glad DelPo seems to be making some friends 😉

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Two girl scouts gathered ’round the campfire! Hahaha. I like this photo, I wonder what was really happening when it was taken. Steps could be talking about his marriage, while DelPo talks about…Playstation? It’s almost an entire generation gap!

      • ariennalee says:

        So funny, the first thing I thought of (living as I do, in the great Yogic state of California) was “they’re doing on-the-baseline couples yoga!”

        Is it me, or do those faded blue indoor courts do terrible things for white-person skin tones. They both look so… pasty.

        • mariposaxprs says:

          Just…the thought of these two doing yoga together makes me shake with laughter. I’d love to see them do downward facing dog and other stretchy poses that JMDP would spend an eternity getting into 🙂

          That’s the problem with indoor HC tournys! I don’t know how it looks live, but on TV the atmosphere is always a bit gymnasium-like. The Valencia tourny’s OK b/c it has sunlight beaming in, but I heard that causes problems for the players too. Hrmm, they should consider wearing makeup before their matches. I may have tips!

Leave a Reply

