Berdych, Tsonga and Fish at the WTF

The field for the 2011 London World Tour Finals has been confirmed.  Following Tomas Berdych’s defeat of Janko Tipsarevic at the Paris Masters, Berdie confirmed his place in the top 8.  Tsonga and Fish will be in London as well.

  • Berdych: Berdie’s a bit of an oddball.  I started to follow him after last year’s Miami Masters, when he defeated Federer in a close match.  The cool way he handled the last few points in the TB was both admirable and human.  On a sidenote, he has a huge following at the Australian Open, where the “Berdych Army” (composed of a group of frat boys) cheers him on.  Following an incredible 2010, where he reached the final at Miami (lost to Roddick) and the final at Wimbledon (he lost to Nadal, after defeating Fed and Djokovic), he’s had a quiet season this year.  After today’s win in Paris, which sealed his place in the WTF, the joy on his face was unmistakable.  Say what you will about his tennis, which veers from spot-on to incredibly off, but he may be a dark horse for the WTF.
  • Tsonga: Tsonga’s had a nice year, including his incredible comeback victory over Fed at the Wimbledon QF (for which I still haven’t completely forgiven him).  He had a less remarkable comeback victory over JMDP in Vienna (for which I will never forgive him).  What can you say, though?  His aggressive game is suited to the indoor courts and he certainly earned his place in London.  He’s only one of two remaining Frenchmen left in the draw at the Paris Masters this week.
  • Fish: Mardy Fish qualified for the London WTF this year.  He used to be JMDP’s doubles partner, so I will refrain from further commentary.

The top 8 men of the ATP in 2011: Djokovic, Nadal, Murray, Federer, Ferrer, Berdych, Tsonga, and Fish.

Now, the only loose ends are the two players who will be the alternates for the London WTF.  So far, it seems Almagro and Tipsarevic will be asked to be on stand by in London.

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Tennis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Berdych, Tsonga and Fish at the WTF

  1. nschnurbach says:

    With Fish’s withdrawal today (and last week in Basel) I wonder if he will be ready to play in London.

    On another note, I too like Berdych’s game and pick him to beat Murray tomorrow.

    • mariposaxprs says:

      I just noticed Fish had retired against Monaco. That is very concerning for his participation in London. He seemed so thrilled to have qualified this year, it would be a huge shame if his lingering injuries didn’t allow him to play. I think he’d be a nice addition to the London WTF this year.

      Berdych over Murray? It’s certainly possible, but I think Berdie’s had a tough time against higher-ranked opponents this year, while Murray’s been on fire these past couple of months. That said, I’d love if Berdie could pull into his higher gear in Paris and it would be a nice surprise if he could pull off a huge upset like that.

      • nschnurbach says:

        I hope you watched the match! What a great performance by both players with Berdych indeed pulling off the huge upset (patting myself on the back).

        While it was a tremendous match by Berdych, he didn’t even play his best with more unforced errors than winners and a number of loose shots on the backhand side.

        Tomorrow should be another good one.

        • mariposaxprs says:

          Yes, I did catch the last two sets of the Berdy-Murray match! All credit to you for calling this result 🙂 I seriously doubted Berdy could pull of the upset over Murray. I blame my short-term memory for forgetting the prior times Berdy’s beaten Murray–since Berdy’s beaten Muzz on clay and HC, I guess his next goal is beating Muzz at Wimbledon? The match was seriously entertaining (in the so “they’re both playing so badly, it’s funny” way). I hope both Fed and Berdy bring their best selves to the SF.

  2. queridorafa says:

    I also enjoy the Berdych! He’s just…different. Similar to Muzz in that he doesn’t really seem to care all that much what people think of him, and yet, he wears it better than Muzz I believe. Something about those blue eyes/high cheekbones is very convincing/appealing. I feel like I’m missing something with Tsonga. Every time I watch him on TV, the commentators rave about the potentials of his game, but I’ve never really been all that impressed/taken with it. To be fair, I haven’t watched that many of his matches, so maybe I just haven’t seen his best.

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Berdie can be so dazzling and on-fire, but the next time you watch him, he’ll be startlingly flat. I guess it’s the inconsistency that’s dogged him throughout his career, but I love watching him when he’s on and playing his best against he best. Berdie has had a couple of PR gaffes, so in that sense he’s a lot like Muzz! Lol. The memory of why he voted for Rafa instead of Roger for the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award is still heavy on my mind 😀 Whenever the award is mentioned now, I can’t help but giggle.

      • ariennalee says:

        I must catch him mostly on the flat days. I would have like to see this joy you described, maybe it would help me warm to him. Or maybe I’m just up to my limit with fussy players. I’ve stood by Andy and Mardy (relatively speaking) out of good ol’ US of A loyalty, but that’s a lot of fuss for one gal to tolerate. Tomas doesn’t throw quite the tantrums that Andy does, but he’s liable to get cranky. One thing I really like? The spelling of his name. Deep, I know. So deep.

        • mariposaxprs says:

          I think that’s a good description you gave, that he’s “fussy.” One of the things I liked about his surprise run last year was how happy/relieved he looked to have made his way into the upper level. Although his 2011 hasn’t been poor, he hasn’t really shone on the big stage. He looks grumpy/fussy in general. That, plus his lack of consistency can make it a frustrating experience to follow him. I’ve caught bits of his matches here and there, but it’s been awhile since I tuned into an entire match of Berdie. Tomas…Tomaaaaas…Bear-ditch? It has a nice ring to it! 😛

          • ariennalee says:

            So I didn’t see the match today, but I wonder if the Bear Ditch, (the ditchy bear?) was on fire and full of joy today? Because it sounded like Andy was the fussy one!

            • mariposaxprs says:

              Bear-Ditch was on fire against Muzz, although it was a dramatic match. Apparently, there was a dispute about the balls and Muzz kind of accused the Ditchy Bear of gamesmanship, for asking for a ball change when he was BP down. I guess it’s better for Muzz that he lost, since he can prep for London WTF now? Those home crowds can be daunting!

Leave a Reply

