Mini-break: Détente (Semi-tennis News)

Imagine strolling down the street past the stores and coming upon this Benetton ad–

So the Cold War really is over (Photo: Benetton/Fabrica)

Benetton’s new UNHATE ad campaign features (photoshopped) Obama and Hu Jintao locking lips.  If I recall, Benetton doesn’t sell blazers and oxford shirts.  They sell colorful sweaters.  So why feature Obama and Hu Jintao?  Where is the focus of this campaign?

The ads feature North Korea-South Korean leaders and even one of the Pope with the Egyptian imam Mohamed Ahmed el-Tayeb.  Why bring in the Pope?  Benetton overstepped a line here, as these ads reek of sensationalism over content.  In my mind, I’m re-throwing out the Benetton sweater I had in 6th grade.

Unless!  Unless Benetton takes it down a notch and features tennis stars.  What other sport is as global and non-offensive as tennis?  Even if the latest version of Photoshop crashes at the sight of Fer and Feli together, I’m sure there are other non-combustible pairings that can be explored.  Past rivals, future friends: Indo-Pak Express, Fedal, Bolgomoddick, Nishiksonga, DelPandian, the list goes on and on.  The best part?  Fed likes his kisses.

Doesn’t that seem like a more sensible approach for Benetton?  Instead of oversimplifying complex political and religious issues with a baffling series of photos, keep the fun alive and play up the drama of sport, which is a fair and appropriate target for a clothing brand.

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mini-break: Détente (Semi-tennis News)

  1. Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon
    your blog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing
    around your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your feed and I’m hoping you write once more soon!

  2. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google,
    and found that it’s truly informative. I’m gonna
    watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  3. ariennalee says:

    Ha! I used to work in advertising and Benetton has always been like this. A wee bit high & mighty to use the essential human stuggle to comprehend difference to sell the united colors of sweaters. Kenneth Cole was all preachy like this in the 90s too. That said, this united names of tennis players idea seems quite sensible. Although, I defy even you to bring together ConMac or Beckassi! 😉

    • ariennalee says:

      wooops. stuggle=struggle

    • mariposaxprs says:

      ConMac and Beckassi, LOVE IT! I’m sure there are plenty of Agassi wigs that can be used to re-create Agassi during those days.

      Wow, I just looked up some of the Kenneth Cole ads from the ’90s. Yea, I guess Benetton is being more edgy now, but I find it more confusing than anything else. I’m surprised the White House hasn’t stopped the use of these ads on public streets. I def think there are ways for clothing companies to pursue a cause, whether it’s animal-free testing or the TOMS shoes campaign, where they link their sales to fight poverty. But this UNHATE campaign just rings hollow to me–it seems too “preachy,” like you said. I think that’s why featuring athletes might be better, since it’s a less controversial way to deliver a similar message.

  4. Pingback: Mini-break: Détente (Semi-tennis News) | mariposaxprs

  5. queridorafa says:

    Bolgomoddick, Nishiksonga, and DelPandian…I’m in awe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

