Funnies: Top of the Class

The top men suited up for the gala to open the 2011 World Tour Finals in London, hosted by the Great Ormond Street Hospital Children’s Charity and sponsored by Moet & Chandon.   Some stray observations—

Novak: Has Novak ever had a different hairstyle other than buzz cut?  Jelena Ristic belongs in a Vogue editorial of models at the library.  They look studious here.

Rafa: A dashing couple.  On a side note–hair gel is now an endangered species in London.

**

Fed: Wavy hair?  Check.  Bemused smirk?  Check.  Brows raised to acknowledge your presence?  Devastating–Check.

Muzz: Kim Sears was not in attendance, which can only mean Judy fixed his tie for him (nicely done).  Not to worry, Muzz, there are greater indignities in life…

**

Tomas: …Such as showing up to an end-of-year work event with a 19-year old underwear model.  Oh Berdy, what has happened?

Ferrer: In the off-season, Ferru faces the insurmountable task of evening out his headband tan.  Still, he receives an A+, as always, for his beautiful hair.

**

Fish: Fish acts nonchalant, when everyone knows how utterly thrilled he is to be there.  Maybe it’s the pinstripes, but he has a hint of swagger about him in LDN.

Tsonga: Tsonga!!  Don’t be fooled by his smile, Jo-Willy is looking to do some damage in London this year.  Watch out, everyone…

**

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Tennis and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Funnies: Top of the Class

  1. It can also be done manually on a chiropractic table.
    Back pain is more common of a problem than you may know.
    Whether driving a car, a bus, or a lorry or even as a passenger – you could
    be suffering driving related back pain.

  2. queridorafa says:

    LOL–“Devastating–Check”. Oh, Roger. I can’t even comment on Tomas. Really disappointed in him. I don’t think Mardy has ever been happier that he just happened to marry a model…had to boost his self-esteem about a thousand points to walk the red (was it in fact red?) carpet with Stacey (Stacie?) Poor David and his tanline! I just noticed that today. I still think he was a lil’ tipsy 😉 I think you’re right on about Jo…he may look innocent… 🙂

    • ariennalee says:

      Sigh. I have no idea WHY I thought this, but for some reason I was under the impression that Mardy’s wife was a LAWYER. Somehow that made me feel better about them. As far as Tomas “ice aquamarine eyes” Berdy is concerned… I really hope Lucie broke his heart and he’s trying to look over-it by borrowing some ice-blonde hair. I hope. I liked her.

      As far as the actual tennis goes… I’ve got no notion of who is gonna win this thing. Unless it’s Fed. Basically no idea. But not Jo, fierce-innocent that he is, I just don’t think he can keep his head against so many top guys for so many days in a row.

      • queridorafa says:

        Haha, According to wikipedia (always accurate! ;)) Stacey is in fact both a model and an attorney! News to me, I always just thought she had been one of the “Deal or No Deal” suitcase girls. I’m glad she has a “fall-back” career… 😉

      • mariposaxprs says:

        According to Twitter (another accurate source of live news ;)) Stacey runs a jewelry line with her sister. She sells bracelets and earrings (some of them tennis-themed) here: http://www.laurenlynne.com/

        I remember there was a mention that Fish’s wife was selling her jewelry at a tournament Mardy was playing. She coordinates with the other players’ wives and she designed a bracelet for Robin Soderling’s foundation too. So that’s a total of 3 careers that she can fall back on!

      • mariposaxprs says:

        Berdy used to be that high school prince who would go on to live a fairytale life. I really liked Lucie and Thomas together and wished them well. Now, I’m not sure what to think of the “ice aquamarine eyes.” I kind of hope too that it was Lucie who put an end to it.

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Haha even though Ferru fans are NOT supposed to look at his forehead (just as Nalby fans are NOT supposed to comment on his weight), the tan is very starkly visible. I wonder if it’s because he wears such a thick headband?

      Mardy’s wife Stacy(?) apparently had no problem with him when he was heavier. He lost the weight all on his own! I hate to admit it, but he looked nice at the gala with his wife. I feel nauseous now for making that statement >_<

Leave a Reply

