Photos: “Meet & Greet” for ARG and ESP in Sevilla

When I mentioned Pico may be used as a sacrificial lamb against Rafa in the Davis Cup tie, I did not think he would take to the task quite so literally:

(Photo: AP Photo)

There’s the old maxim “don’t look a gift horse in the mouth,” but a gift lamb?  By all means, Rafa, pinch a gifted lamb in the buttocks!  That is a sturdy grasp there.  Man, Pico.  I hope you know what you’re doing.  You’re treading on thin ice here.

Photo: AP Photo

If I were standing across from Fer, I’d have trouble looking him in the eyes as well (for fear of bursting into laughter or tears).  Good on you, DelPo, for refusing to make eye contact.  That (almost) forgives the hair crime situation–what is this bedhead?  What potions has Fer used on his own hair?  Hair gel for a training session is a bit much, no?

Photo: EFE

Mine eyes!  Fer, you’re coming on way too strong there.  Go make a pass at Pico instead.

Photo: ABCdeSevilla (Juan Flores)

It’s an epidemic.  Even Feli refuses to look Fer in the eyes.  What does Fer have to do to gain some respect around these parts?  Wait, I know the answer to that one.

Photo: FueBuena

Et tu, DelPo?  I didn’t know he was capable of coming between Fer and Feli.  Perhaps this is all part of a master plan to make Fer feel even more of an outcast?  Arranged by…

Photo: David Nalbandian FB

“El Rey.”  He is at turns crazy and angelic, with eyes as blue as the flag he carries.  He looked a bit grumpy in training.  Let’s hope it’s only the jet lag speaking.

Photo: Ole Tenis

See what I mean?  Nalby went from angelic to crazy in two seconds flat.  There is no scarier sight in the tennis world than that of “El Rey” attempting to hug you (Fer making eye contact is a close 2nd).  This reminds me of that scene from “Arrested Development”:

Michael Bluth: Why are you squeezing me with your body?

Lucille Bluth: It’s a hug, Michael.  I’m hugging you.

Michael Bluth: Well, why?

Come to think of it, Nalby could do a fine interpretation of Lucille Bluth.

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Photos, Tennis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Photos: “Meet & Greet” for ARG and ESP in Sevilla

  1. I have read so many articles or reviews regarding the blogger lovers however this article is
    genuinely a good post, keep it up.

  2. Pingback: Funnies: Nalbandian as Caravaggio’s Narcissus | mariposaxprs

  3. lmao I almost fell off my chair laughing.. brillian!

  4. M says:

    Crying with laughter at the inspired commentary. 🙂

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Haha thank you! I love the team photos that come from Davis Cup, esp because Spain and Argentina are so friendly with each other. I can’t imagine seeing this in any other sport where there are two teams competing in the final!

  5. ariennalee says:

    Love, love your Arrested Development reference. Comic brilliance, that show.
    How does Feli’s LEFT arm look so skinny in his alterna-boy outfit in that picture with Fer?
    Also like that last photo of Rafa & Nalby. You’d better smile when Nalby grabs your neck!

    • mariposaxprs says:

      I loved Arrested Development! I’m seriously hoping they reunite to make a great movie version of the show. Although the actor who plays George Michael may have grown too much for his part…

      Whoa Feli’s arm does look emaciated. I wonder if it’s linked to his shorter hair style? There’s so much going on in his photo–the alterna-boy outfit (turtleneck!), the hair, the facial hair. The man must be busy these days!

      I love when Nalby shows positive emotion toward other human beings, because he always manages to look very aggressive. I feel like his emotions don’t always get properly conveyed? He’s a mystery man 😉

      • ariennalee says:

        Michael Cera will always be 18. It’s actually a fact.
        I think I like the Feli alterna-boy. Like a Kurt Cobain/Bjorn Borg mash-up.
        “positive emotion toward other human beings” Lol. Even THAT sounds threatening. “Mr. Nalbandian showed signs of improvement today as he evidenced positive emotion toward other humans. He is making slow but certain progress and is on track to be released for a weekend visit to see… what? What do you mean he’s gone to SPAIN?? Don’t you know that Spain is filled with SPANISH TENNIS PLAYERS? David is very triggered by Spanish tennis players and… what do you mean he took TENNIS RACQUETS with him? Those are weapons in his hands! He might seriously injure somebody…”
        Ahem. Sorry, got carried away there. He’s always seemed to be a good mannered guy on court, but aside from the fact that Rafa likes him, I know little about him. Has he a reputation for being somewhat forceful? He certainly has forceful looking shoulders 😉

        • mariposaxprs says:

          It’s almost a pity that I can’t imagine him being an actual grown-up!

          I actually like Feli with shorter hair. Even though the long hair look is also nice on him, he seems less broody when it’s not shoulder-length. The Borg-Cobain look is a nice description for him, I think he’d appreciate it too!

          I love your coverage of Nalby’s whereabouts and antics in Spain 😉 The first rule of Nalby club is never mention Nalby’s oversized frame. But who am I kidding? He is a balletic whale. What little I do know of him off the court consists of funny/embarrassing commercials he’s shot in Argentina. For the purposes of Nalby’s dignity, I will keep them under wraps for now 😉

          • queridorafa says:

            Omg, lol on the Nalby whereabouts report and the balletic whale. It never occurred to me that Nalby was a little bigger than usual, no?, until quite recently really. I started hearing/reading comments indicating such and I was like, really? He looks fit to me! I must have Nalby mid-section blinders or something. Or he just wears it (hides it?) really well…

            • ariennalee says:

              Nalby never struck me as terribly out of shape…just brawnier and with a bit higher BMI than ideal for a professional. Unfortunately, it only takes a little extra stress on a frame for the injuries to pile up. In the runner’s world he’d be called a “Clydesdale” runner, but “balletic whale” is much funnier! Also, he is still VERY graceful for a burly, shorter player. The way he turns his shoulders into his backhand, ooo la la! 🙂

              • mariposaxprs says:

                That’s so true, I think that’s why a lot of Nalby-Muzz comparisons are made. I wonder how much more Nalby could have done w/Muzz’s dedication to fitness. A “Clydesdale” runner he is! (just looked up the term ;)) Nalby is really graceful when he plays–I’d like if someone made a highlights clip of his BH winners on Youtube in the future. That would be swoon-worthy material.

            • mariposaxprs says:

              Hahaha when I think now, there are quite a few tennis players who are heftier than Nalby (Diego Junquiera, 30lbs-heavier Mardy Fish). I think Tsonga might have a larger frame too, but for some reason he doesn’t get as much flak for it. Earlier this year, Nalby lost some weight so the mid-section isn’t as wide as it used to be. I guess it’s because he’s heavier than Pico or DelPo that the fat jokes really multiply: http://i.imgur.com/uI5zW.jpg

  6. Pingback: Now, Fer « Querido Rafa

  7. queridorafa says:

    Such great pics. Omg, I can’t stop grinning. Are DelPo/Feli doing a pas de deux or what? (or maybe a tango? Argentine tango? Flamenco? Macarena? Something!) Also, Feli cut his hair I think? Looks good, but the mutton chops/beard have to go. Does Nalby have tears in his eyes in that pic? Emotionally manipulate people much, Nalby?? I just watched this video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FpTjejA-C8o) and yeah…when Nalby laughs at like, :28 mark…my blood ran cold. Cra-zy. 😉

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Feli cut his hair! It’s like there’s a finite amount of hair between him and Fer. When one’s hair grows, the other chops off his locks. I concur on the mutton chops/beard too!!

      I love that photo of Nalby kissing the flag, because he looks so sweet there. Which is not the usual image I have of him (even as a fan, I can’t bring myself to think he’s always sweet and easy-going). That clip of Nalby laughing…lolol…it had me grinning like a Cheshire cat. But my blood would totally be running cold if I were rooting for Spain (any other year, I’d be rooting for Spain too. Just not against Arg.)

  8. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

