Funnies: Wilson Speak to DelPo & Feli, Hilarity Ensues

Wilson interviewed DelPo and Feli for their thoughts on the new Wilson racquets (thanks to @Saoirse_Fierce for the find!)  There’s a running gag where they attempt to trick the players into thinking the racquets will be made illegal.  This led to some Oscar-worthy dialogue below.

DELPO’S TAKE–

Wilson: “[The racquet has so much power] they’re trying to make it illegal”

DelPo: “WHYY?”

DelPo’s pronunciation of “com-fohr-teh-ble” should be patented.  He’s such a cool bear when he says “Oh, don’t talk about this.”  The ursine elf keeps it real.

(He talks about his racquet the same way I answer questions about why I bought my phone: “Oh, you know because it works…it comes in different colors.  Aaannndd…I can use it for emails and taking photos, that’s very com-fohr-teh-ble for me.”)

**

FELI’S TAKE–

Wilson: “So some people say that [the racquet] should be illegal”

Feli:  (in a snooty voice) Some people are … stupid?

Feli: (after prolonged silence) ¡Estupido! 

It’s like a Dadaist play, right?  There’s no coherent dialogue or message.  The clip is just all these discordant moments mashed together (that’s my limited understanding of Dadaism).

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Funnies, Tennis and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Funnies: Wilson Speak to DelPo & Feli, Hilarity Ensues

  1. Pingback: Rock Training! And Other Stories. « Querido Rafa

  2. Yeah, for a split second that scared me. I thought, “Oh no! They’re going to force everyone to play with wooden racquets again!”

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Noooo, not the wooden racquets! I sense DelPo and Feli would both have serious, very REAL objections to the use of wooden racquets again. Seriously, only Fed would be in support of such an idea!

  3. queridorafa says:

    Oh, no, I thought it was real!! Sadness. (although I was a little scared by DelPo’s hand into the camera–I mean, that’s pretty hard core–so I’m somewhat relieved to know it’s staged.) They really are great though. Soooo funny. I also loved “comfortable”–and “ursine elf” (had to look ursine up, admittedly…) And Feli’s “snooty voice.” He could give lessons!
    Babolat needs to look into something like this. Just sayin’. 😉

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Haha if it’s staged, that makes DelPo’s “WHYY?” even funnier. Who knew he could feign disbelief as well as he did there? Feli took the opposite approach with his “Yea, people are stupid” attitude. Feli could definitely offer a “lifestyle class” in how to be snooty when one is asked silly questions!

      It’d be awesome if Babolat did a similar campaign! Doesn’t Marc! also use Babolat? They could do a side-by-side of Rafa and Marc! How funny would it be if Marc! showed everyone a snooty side to his otherwise happy character? 🙂

  4. ariennalee says:

    What fun! I really like the particular shape viral advertising has taken in tennis. I really couldn’t tell if Feli and DelPo were serious or not, but then I went and watched the others and Kei kinda gives it away. He’s clearly been “coached” 🙂 But who knew Delpo could act?! A multi-faceted elf.

    • ariennalee says:

      If he is acting…
      But if he’s not, I’d hate to think that his racquet sponsor was willing to traumatize their man 😉

      • mariposaxprs says:

        Come to think of it, he makes a very passable actor, no? Very, very passable. Which all but qualifies one for an Oscar nowadays, right? That’s how it works, right? Lol I hadn’t seen the one with Kei before, but his take does sort of give it away. I feel like none of the players responded to the line, “They might make the racquet illegal” the way Wilson wanted them to–I’d have expected more tantrums or wails of “Noooo~~” But I love the viral advertising aspect of it all the same!

Leave a Reply

