Happy Holidays from Mariposaxprs!

Bon Nadal, Joyeux Federer, Merry Murray, Danza Daveed-uro, Feliz Del Potro, Giddy-up Gasquet, and Happy Picooo everyone!!  I hope you’re enjoying a happy holidays and bravely weathering the difficult tennis off-season.  I will be sharing a series of interesting links with you all!

Soderling bakes heart-shaped gingerbread cookies. Get well, Bobby Sod!!

  • SI Beyond the Baseline has an imaginary ATP Christmas dinner.  It much resembles Queridorafa‘s fun-filled Thanksgiving Feast featuring ATP players.  I can imagine DelPo needing a nap after spending Christmas dinner with dozens of kids clinging to his arms and legs!
  • On a different note, DelPo recently paid a Christmas visit to the Garrahan Hospital in Buenos Aires, to visit children who are currently recovering from illness.  It seems he was welcomed there, as he spoke with the patients.
  • In Andy Murray’s recent candid interview, he recalled spending last year’s Christmas alone running on a beach.  It appears he is repeating the same routine this year.  I don’t know, but too many holidays spent alone sounds like the type of thing that could scar one’s soul.  Please, Murray, give yourself a deserved break for one day!

**

Here are my own contributions to the Christmas bounty.  Below are my hastily done versions of ATP player Christmas cards.  Please do not take offense!

You’d be surprised by how difficult it is to find a recent photo featuring a smiling DelPo.  Still, elves, elves and a title-winning DelPo make for a winning holiday card.

I had to include this fun Christmas Card because 1) It features mistletoe and 2) It’s Julio Iglesias with Rafa.

Lastly, we have Ferru’s Christmas card with the Spanish word that was revealed to be one of four factors involved in his triumph over Djokovic in London (according to former Spanish DC captain Emilio Sanchez Vicario).

Whether your holiday features industrious elves, Julio Iglesias, or merrily dancing cats, I hope you enjoy the festive weekend!

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy Holidays from Mariposaxprs!

  1. BTW, I don’t the Parental Advisory: No Pigeons Allowed on the David Ferrer card.

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Lol, I learned the term “pigeons” from reading the comments section on tennis articles—it’s a condescending word that fans use to describe a lopsided H2H record (eg. Roddick’s 2-21 record against Fed could mean Roddick is “Fed’s pigeon”). It’s not very nice, but it seemed funny in the context of Ferru’s Christmas card, since the card was about Ferru having swagger!

  2. Love the cards for Ferrer and Del Po! Hilarious, and so appropriate. 🙂

    Happy Holidays to you, and a Happy New Year, which, with any luck, will involve victory for Argentina in the Davis Cup!

  3. queridorafa says:

    Sod in horizontal stripes, DelPo “smiling,” kitty dancing on David’s racquet…Happy Holidays indeed! Thanks for the holiday cheer (and remembering my Turkey Day post! Love Courtney’s portrayal of Shazza/Roger and Muzz–so dead-on! And Rafa and DelPo, of course…). Hope you had (and are continuing to have) a great holiday season!

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Haha, thanks, you too!! Her description of Muzz was indeed, dead on 🙂 I really, really hope he didn’t spend the day alone running on the beach. Hope the holidays have been treating you well!

  4. Arienna Lee says:

    Happy Holidays to you! Thanks for the link and for elevating my post to the status of “tale.” 😉 I quite like your photo retouching as well… my favorite has got to be David’s. You’ve managed to turn a confused shrug into pure swagga!

    Also, I gave a chuckle at the endearing photo of Soderling. That gingerbread doesn’t look like it rolled out so easily, does it? Well pro tennis doesn’t necessarily prepare one for life in the kitchen.

    “You’d be surprised by how difficult it is to find a recent photo featuring a smiling DelPo. ” Aww. I’m glad you made the effort though 🙂

    Here’s to less melancholia from Delpo and many happy blog posts in 2012!

    • mariposaxprs says:

      It was a heartwarming tale, so I was obliged to share!! Ferru practically did all the work for me there, with his card (although I did add the gold chain necklace for effect, to erase any traces of confusion and heighten the “pure swagga” effect, lol!)

      You shared my very thoughts on Bobby Sod’s gingerbread making. There was a bit of an internal battle raging inside me when I saw the photo. On one hand, “Aww, Bobby Sod is baking! Missed seeing him!” On the other hand, “What.is.is.he.rolling.out? It.looks.like.a.disaster.” 😉 Maybe it’s a blessing he hasn’t yet had time to mold himself into a kitchen genius!

      Indeed, I raise my imaginary glass to less elfin melancholia and more happy blog posts for everyone in 2012—here, there, and everywhere!

      • Arienna Lee says:

        I guess owning a small doggie doesn’t automatically grant a person skills at making cute desserts! Gingerbread can be so tricky. Although not so tricky as an all-butter pie crust… but still… one needs practice. 🙂

  5. Iram says:

    I wanted to wish u happy holidays. Hope 2012 brings u good health and happiness. I look forward to reading ur blog next year. Lots of warm wishes from california!! All the best

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Happy holidays to you as well, in sunny California! I am bearing with the cold here, although I haven’t seen snow yet 🙂 I wish merry fun, health and happiness to you as well in 2012. Looking forward to hearing what our fellow tennis players are up to in the new year. Best wishes ^_^

Leave a Reply

