Funnies: DelPo in Sydney & Funny RG Impersonations

Face-off!  The Tower of Tandil versus Sydney Tower.  Journalist Craig Gabriel followed DelPo to the top of the Sydney Tower, where they have a Skywalk.  Apparently, the Skywalk requires everyone to wear a special suit:

That wingspan — DelPo does his best impression of the Christ the Redeemer statue here.  Between the towers of Tandil and Sydney, I call victory for the Tower of Tandil. 🙂

But I’d like to make one correction to Mr. Gabriel’s tweet: DelPo was not scared.

DelPo was not scared because he can pose with the largest of canine creatures and still maintain his composure.  For him, standing atop the  268m-high Sydney Tower is the same as sitting next to this heavyset dog.  The expression on DelPo’s face says so.  Woof.

Dogfight! DelPo and the mystery dog share the same facial expression.

Update: It turns out DelPo was a little bit scared at the start.  The ATP released footage of the visit.  Some highlights:

  • DelPo’s utterly dazed expression (0:25).
  • Franco!! And physical trainer, Martiniano.  A loyal team follows you to the top of the tallest building in Sydney.
  • DelPo says he’s scared, in a joking voice.  Wry DelPo jokes.  I love how he casually points out the fact that he’s been on top of the Empire State Building before.  Remember, after he won that title? 😉 (0:50)
  • Juan Martin’s “Is safety here?” as he points to the ground below. (1:46)
  • The photographer says “Look straight up, mate” to DelPo (2:12). Too funny.
  • DelPo DANCES.  He does the Lizard (?) at 2:30.  Then a tennis-y dance to follow.
  • Interviewer asks DelPo whether he’s more nervous at the Sydney Tower than he was playing the USO final against Federer.  He says he prefers being nervous about Roger, for sure (3:27).   Ahahahaha.  Roger watches these videos, you know.  I’m pretty sure DelPo ran back to his hotel and sent an apology text to Roger.

**

The Roland Garros twitter recently released a best impersonations video on their Google+ page.  My favorite impersonations are of Gasquet, Roddick and Guga Kuerten (the video ends with an impression of Guga’s trademark drawing of his heart on clay).  The impersonation of Gasquet is quite hilarious — I’d never noticed Reeshard’s quirks before, whether it’s his unique service motion or his paradoxically restrained Gallic manner of celebrating a winner.  The video doesn’t embed, but is worth a watch (starts at 0:30)!

2001: Guga's heart on his clay, and lying in it, at Roland Garros (Photo: Getty Images)

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Funnies, Tennis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Funnies: DelPo in Sydney & Funny RG Impersonations

  1. queridorafa says:

    Omg, I am like, on the ground w/ those impersonations!! Gael, Richard, and Guga are absolutely hysterically funny (and uncannily good)! Thanks for posting!
    We picked out many of the same fave moments on the DelPo video! Such a great little piece with lots of fun surprises. The “dance” (is THAT what it is) at 2:30 is classic. Love the dog pic! Does DelPo hang that on his locker b/f he plays Rafa?? I think he might…

    • mariposaxprs says:

      It’s such a well-done video and I appreciate how they recruited a special “impersonationalist” for it! I love how they focused on some of the players whose habits/quirks aren’t as well-publicized too, although the impersonation of Roddick probably takes the cake for accuracy.

      I concur! There are so many fav moments from that DelPo video. I like that he’s actually showing his face in an ATP promo this year. He’d been missing from those for awhile! Re: the dog pic, maybe DelPo should try that tactic? Rafa could retaliate by making sure DelPo uses the *highest locker in the room,” since DelPo’s afraid of heights 🙂

  2. ariennalee says:

    Those impressions were great, btw! I echo what you said about Richard & I’d never noticed how extreme Gael’s tucked-in elbow is until I saw the impersonation. Fun stuff.

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Gael really does tuck in his elbows quite a bit! I think he’s one of the few players who actually do a kick on their forehands too. I’m not sure if I can keep a straight face during Reeshard’s service games now. I may have to stand up and imitate his serves instead. Uh oh, that’s the first step down the rabbit hole…crossing the line from watching to imitating a pro player’s strokes!

  3. ariennalee says:

    “Christ the Redeemer statue” The resemblance is uncanny!

    I love how tennis players are all so good at “enjoying the moment.” 😉

    Did you know that it costs upwards of $50 to go up the Empire State Building these days? And they don’t even give you blue Jesus garb to wear while you’re up there!

    • mariposaxprs says:

      He’s imitating something, that’s for sure!! Either it’s the statue or Jack from Titanic. Except he needs someone to pose with for a Titanic scene, and I think the lambchops are still marinating in the public terrible 😉

      I hadn’t realized a visit to the Empire State Building costs more than $50! That’s plain robbery. What is with the blue parachute outfit, though? If it were Niagara Falls, then a raincoat is necessary. Maybe it’s really windy on top of the Sydney Tower? I really wish they made jumpsuits that would actually reach DelPo’s feet 🙂 It’s such an amazing video.

      • ariennalee says:

        Excellent use of the lampchops in the public terrible. Well done, Mariposa. I think that needs to be a blog post title at some point. It just does.

        Also, thanks for the twitter welcome! It honestly didn’t occur to me that you would notice me there and follow-back! I have to work on my twitter persona it would seem. I think it’ll be better once I’ve had a chance to actually WATCH a tennis match. 🙂

        • mariposaxprs says:

          That would be something! A post-modern blog entry inspired by mangled Google Translations. Ohlala^^

          You can be the awesome-sauce blogger from ExtremeWesternGrip 🙂 Who starts every tweet with “Look…” on April Fool’s Day? Lol. It can be nice to be on Twitter when I can’t watch matches, just to keep an eye on how things are going. Hope to see you on the Twitter!

          • ariennalee says:

            Ha! Thanks for the idea… I do want to get back to my examination of speech patterns. Oz and its extensive player transcripts will give me a perfect opportunity to marinate in the public speech terrible. 😉 My approach to the twitter will probably be a bit 1-step forward, 2-steps back (I’m a bit social media shy), but once I’m in, I’m sure I’ll be Adidas-in!

Leave a Reply

