Funnies: DelPo & Nalby for an Oscar (Scored to “Moon River”)

So, in honor of the Oscars that recently happened (I was not able to watch), Queridorafa and AriennaLee have submitted a list of “Tennis Oscar” nominations.  This is a fabulous idea, and I’d like to chime in with my own nominations featuring DelPo and Nalbandian!

1.The Last Samurai (El Último Sammooorái):

Tom Cruise should be ashamed of himself, because Juan Martin del Potro would make a most excellent samurai.  He’s mastered the footwear already (very important).

3. Juan & Juanita, the salad-themed remake of Julie & Julia:

It just looks like a bowlful of celery sticks with some tomatoes thrown in, but something glorious happens by the end of the movie.

3. The Fast & Furious XVI: Tandil Locomotion

Outfit (one-size only) sold separately from movie ticket.

4. “300^2” (starring David Nalbandian)

The dramatic production award: David Nalbandian acts in a commercial for a migraine medication called Tafirol.  You may want to take some first, before watching.

You know how people say that 10-15 years later, everyone will laugh at Avatar’s CGI effects, because they will be so out of date?  Well, I hope Nalby’s commercial never goes out of date, because it’s too awesome — the intro, the costume, and the dead-panned seriousness that only El Rey can bring to such a comically splashy venture.

In a recent interview, Nalby said he’d like Robert de Niro or Jack Nicholson to play him in a movie.  Interpret that as you will 😉

5. Breakfast at Tiffany’s (The DelPandian Story)

Finally, we have a love story, featuring ice-cream and a soundtrack

Moon river, wider than a mile / I’m crossing you in style, someday

Oh dream maker, you heartbreaker—

Whereever you’re goin’, 

I’m goin’ your way

Two drifters, off to see the world / There’s such a lot of world to see—

We’re after the same rainbow’s end / Waitin’ ’round the bend

My huckleberry friend, moon river, and me

That was the only movie that came to mind with these two.  I keep thinking Nalby is the Holly Golightly here?  Clearly, I did not think this through enough.  In the DelPandian remake, I’d like Clive Owen to play DelPo’s role.  Holly Golightly’s nameless cat is the Cavis Dup.  Nobody dare mention the cat by name in the presence of these two.

Needless to say, the DelPandian version of Breakfast at Tiffany’s is still in production.  It’s scheduled for release in 2012 or 2013-4, or — stop asking me when!  Just keep patient!

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Funnies, Tennis and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Funnies: DelPo & Nalby for an Oscar (Scored to “Moon River”)

  1. Pingback: DelPo-Dulko to Play Mixed Doubles at the Olympics! | mariposaxprs

  2. Trish says:

    I cannot believe that commercial. How cheese. I’m choosing to believe it’s ironic. Great post very funny!

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Thanks, Trish!! I am fascinated by Nalby’s migraine commercial. I love how the crowd cheers for him as he raises his sword triumphantly at the end. It’s a cheesy epic 🙂 Unfortunately, I’m pretty sure Nalby did not intend it to be ironic. He’s such a mysterious character, isn’t he? I like re-watching it, just for laughs!

  3. Pingback: The Rest of My Day « Querido Rafa

  4. queridorafa says:

    I know this was a really funny post throughout, but I think I blacked out from laughter after the first picture…DelPo…skirt…girlish hair…swords…*crash*
    Luckily I came to just in time for the migraine commercial! Are those…bare legs?
    The hand-holding (arm-wrestling?) is a-mayzing. (Thank you for posting! All of them, actually…) I used to think they just hated each other. Now I think they’re like brothers…who hate each other! 🙂

    • mariposaxprs says:

      How crazy is the life of a pro tennis player? This was old-school DelPo, from when he had long hair (it wasn’t a bad look at all, but let’s just say he looks slightly more presentable now ;))

      I do believe Nalby has bare legs in this commercial, I personally would have insisted on compression shorts. You are right on with the “brothers…who hate each other” theme! Although most of their lovey-dovey photos are from pre-2008 final, they did get along very well! I hope they provide more bromance photos in the year(s) to come!!

  5. Arienna Lee says:

    Wonderful, wonderful post! So funny. I particularly like your line about the salad. I have no doubt it will be a magical, magical salad by the end (especially if they add a couple sticks of butter) I also love how you notice all the little details of DelPo’s ill-fitting garments.

    The migraine post: I didn’t take precautionary medication before I watched, but I survived! The same cannot be said for my mouthful of coffee. Only Nalby.

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Thanks! I wonder how the ATP PR staff come up with some of these ideas—to have DelPo dressed as a samurai, and then to have him making some random salad. Is DelPo actually a skilled chef? 🙂

      I could watch the ending of Nalby’s migraine commercial on repeat! (already have). This is the kind of material that a player’s agent might turn down, citing the need to maintain a certain image for a player. I guess Nalby doesn’t have those reservations though 😉 Only Nalby, indeed!!!

Leave a Reply

