Funnies: DelPo Goes Duty-free Shopping

As part of the Dubai tourny’s promotional activities, DelPo went on a short shopping spree at the Dubai Duty-Free mall:

This is some hilarious stuff.  He’s really in his element here, whether he’s spritzing on cologne, saying “That’s me” in the Wilson racquets section of the store, commenting on Roger Federer’s Nike shoes, and lamenting the fact that his own model of Nike shoes is not available at the store.

DelPo’s shopping tally: He buys a racquet and new pen.  He keeps remarking on his “new pen” that he will take back to Argentina.  Bless him.

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Funnies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Funnies: DelPo Goes Duty-free Shopping

  1. Arienna Lee says:

    Aww. His English is getting so much better, and more personality is coming through (to the Spanishly Challenged, aka: me). He’s such a trickster, isn’t he?

    You know what really got me though? When he said he couldn’t “do this in Argentina” Imagine not having the freedom to wander through a store? Where does he get his pens?

    • mariposaxprs says:

      He is indeed a sly trickster, I like it 🙂 I feel like there are so few opportunities for American/British/English-language media to really cover athletes from other countries in-depth, so I really liked that the Dubai tourny decided to make DelPo’s shopping spree a big event! Success!!

      Lololol, I wondered too. Since it’s duty-free shopping, was he referring to the fact that he isn’t able to go duty-free shopping in Argentina? How tough it must be for him when *there are pens to be bought*!

      • Arienna Lee says:

        I thought he was referring to being able to just wander into a store and shop without being mobbed by fans. But I like the idea of him just being so excited about duty free pens a bit better 😉

        • queridorafa says:

          I thought that was hilarious, too! I was thinking he was being a little Roger-like, emphasizing how “famous” he is in Argentina! 🙂
          I also loved this, b/c DelPo and I are the same–I also always go for the pens!! Really, I do! If I’m in a gift shop of any sort, you can just find me at the pens, marveling over all the different varieties!
          DelPo checking out that flowy top was another fave…

          • mariposaxprs says:

            Bwahaha, now I’m starting to wonder if DelPo was in fact referring to the fact that he can’t shop like a normal person in public. Hmm…

            You’re a pen collector?!? DelPo’s video segment had me thinking about the pens I used to have as a child — you know the ones with the boats that shift up and down depending on how you hold the pen? I loved those. Nowadays, I’m stuck with a cupful of plain 0.3mm Japanese pens 😦 But they’re Japanese, so I guess that makes them cool *hopeful*

Leave a Reply

