Federer Wins His 17th Grand Slam, 7th Wimbledon, and Will Break the Record for Weeks Spent at #1

Against the odds and passing of time, Fed wins his 17th Grand Slam and his 7th Wimbledon title (equals Pete Sampras’ Wimby record).  He also takes the #1 ranking, which means he will surpass Sampras’ 286 weeks spent ranked #1.  He accomplished this at 30 years old and 11 months of age (the last time both the women’s and men’s champions were 30 y.o. or older was in 1975, when Billie Jean King and Arthur Ashe won).  I don’t want to barrage you with facts, but this win also means that among active players, Rafa is the only one to have played Fed more than once and hold a winning record against him.

This was a huge final, for both Fed and Murray, but Fed defied a nation’s hopes and an in-form Murray to take this final:

Photo: Getty Images

It had been two-and-a-half years since Fed had been past the SF at Wimby, so his return to the Wimby entrance with trophy in hand was all the more memorable:

Photo: Getty Images

Just as Roland Garros saw Rafa takes a historic 7th title (thus inspiring the H7story), Fed’s 7th Wimby title has inspired a new H17story.  Nike has many new ideas for t-shirts this year.

This was an emotional win for Fed, his 2nd Grand Slam since the birth of his twin daughters (who are now almost 3 y.o.) and his 1st GS with coach Paul Annacone.  It was lovely to see his proud parents, wife Mirka, and now his old-enough-t0-remember daughters witness this big moment.

The Tennis Channel interview linked here is hilarious and of-the-moment.  A slightly drunk Fed speaks with Martina Navratilova, and a “Are you drunk?”/”Me?  A little.  WHAT, you’ve never been drunk before?”  dialogue ensues.

I have a few more thoughts about the final that I will update shortly.  As much as this final was all about Fed, runner-up Muzz put in an impressive performance and brought the house down with his tearful speech.  Credit goes to both players for putting on a cracker of a final, one that was both subtle and memorable.

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Tennis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Federer Wins His 17th Grand Slam, 7th Wimbledon, and Will Break the Record for Weeks Spent at #1

  1. Thanks for the interview link! Drunk/Giggly!Fed is just too amusing 🙂 Also, the little Fed twins are adorable…apparently, the rumor is that Mirka is pregnant again!

    Truthfully, I’m not really a Fed fan, and I’m even less of a Murray fan, but I really felt for both during this final. I loved the fact that Federer proved the world wrong with this win yet again, and that when everyone else thought he was finished, he thought he was just getting started. The fact that he always believed he would be back is really rather inspiring. And then there’s Muzz. I can definitely relate to that feeling of really wanting something, and trying your best…and just not being able to achieve it. Its frustrating and disappointing and I really feel for him.

    And now we enter into the post-Wimbledon slump! Strange to think the Olympics are almost here and we’ll be getting more tennis soon!

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Mirka with another Fedlet/-erina?? How amazing would that be?! I love how much more grown-up the twins are, they’ll at least have some hazy memories of clapping for their father at Wimby. There’s this funny quote from him about the twins on the day after:

      ““I saw them this morning, and they’re playing games. And I was like, ‘Do you remember yesterday?’ And one’s like, ‘No. I don’t.’ I was like, ‘OK, OK.’ And then the other one’s like, ‘Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah. I remember clapping.’ So honestly, I’m not sure what they do remember. … When I won in 2003, never in my wildest dream did I ever think that I was going to win Wimbledon and have my kids seeing me lift the trophy. So this is pretty surreal.” (http://www.nj.com/tennis/index.ssf/2012/07/federer_earns_top_spot.html)

      So adorable 🙂 I also love how Fed’s “decline” in the past few years has been so subtle, that a win at Wimby is still well within the cards. That really does attest to his longevity and how committed he’s stayed to the game this past decade. Plus, he went better and got the no. 1 ranking too. It’s so impressive.

      I’m on a similar page as you—I’m actually a Fed fan, but I can’t bring myself to support Muzz. I’ve def seen a new side of him and I have so much new respect for him, but he’s still not someone I viscerally cheer for. Or do I cheer for him now? I guess that’s a question I will solve during this post-Wimby slump!! Hope the slump is not too harsh for you!!! 🙂

      • Oh my gosh – that is such an adorable quote! And given what he accomplished, I’m guessing Fed still has a few years left in him, so even if they don’t remember this one, maybe they’ll still remember him playing!

        So far the post-Wimby slump isn’t that bad, mainly b/c I’ve been watching the Tour. Did you hear Brad Wiggins press conference? It was just so crotchety, that I might just have to start supporting him haha!

        Yeah, I’ve never disliked Murray, per se. His attitude or his moaning, etc has never really bothered me, but at the same time, there is nothing in his game or style of play that is going to motivate me to watch a 2+ hour tennis match for him, you know? But, I really do relate to how he must feel; that feeling of almost being there, but just coming up short. I think so often in sports, we like to watch champions, people who inspire us and distract us from our own problems with their brilliance and effort, but how many of us can really relate to someone like Roger Federer? I think most people are more likely to know what it feels like to stand in Murray’s shoes. That being said, I don’t think I’ve quite been converted to a Muzz fan! But, it will be interesting to see when and if he does win a Slam. Also, I just realized that so far DelPo has faced all the members of the Top-5, except Murray, so it will be interesting to see when that match up occurs!

  2. Chris Ross says:

    Nice post. Even after this win, I still don’t see Federer winning another major. Everything came together for him and I don’t see that happening again. Nadal lost, Federer survived a 5 setter and then his game came together again, really, for the first time in a long time. After the 1st set, he just dominated Murray and he was the deserving champion. Incredibly impressive at 30 years old but don’t see another one in the future. Not impossible but I don’t see it. Good for him to finally get one last one before he’s done. Also, you think you could take a look at my blog post because I really would love to know what you have to say http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2012/07/09/never-to-be-seen-again/

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Thanks for visiting my site, Chris!

      That’s quite a brave prediction to put forth, straight after Fed’s won his 17th Slam. I don’t agree with your assertion that “everything came together” for Fed this Wimby—what makes this win more astounding, is the fact that he did it the old-fashioned way—by playing and defeating the world no. 1 Djokovic, and then an in-form Murray. Would Rafa’s presence in the draw have meant a different outcome? That requires too much speculation, and plus, Rafa lost in R2, so I don’t see a point in going there. It may be a question that’s relevant for next year!

      I will definitely check out your blog, thanks for dropping me the link!

Leave a Reply

