Two Cheers for Tandil: Pico Joins DelPo in the Top 10!

Pico won the Hamburg title, defeating veteran Tommy Haas in straight sets, 7-5 6-4.  Last year in Valencia, Pico lost a close final to Marcel Granollers and he was in tears afterwards.

This year in Hamburg, Pico finally clinched his first 500-level title — and there were even more tears after his victory:

Photo: Reuters

Federer, Murray, Rafa-crying-in-the-shower-after-losing-the-2007-Wimbledon-final, DelPo, Pico and a long list of others: this era of tennis will be remembered for its tears.

Pico and his happy tears have officially entered the top 10 for the first time.  He is ranked no. 10, right behind DelPo at no. 9.  This is the first time since 2009 that the top 10 features two players from Argentina (in 2009, it was DelPo & Nalbandian).  I’m fairly certain this is the first time ever that two players from Tandil, Argentina make the top 10 in the same week.  Here’s an old photo of Pico and DelPo when they were young, practicing together in their small hometown of Tandil.  Great day all around for Tandil and Argentina!

However, with great power comes great responsibility.  I imagine Nalby has already sent multiple text messages to Pico, informing him of the upcoming Davis Cup SF in September:

Photo: Reuters

If Pico looks uneasy with his trophy, it’s likely because Nalby just sent a congratulatory warning.

Thankfully, Pico can be comforted by the fact that others like NBA star Manu Ginobli are happy for him!  No Davis Cup strings attached, Ginobli’s just plain dumb happy for Pico 🙂

This is a big win for Pico, who had been on an excellent run until he rolled his ankle at Monte Carlo earlier this year.  All the fears that the injury would halt his momentum can now be released — although I personally expect more from him and would like to see Pico fight his way to a sustainable position inside the top 10.

Hopefully, this means Argentina are due for a blockbuster appearance at the Olympics.  There are only four more days left to the Opening Ceremony!

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Tennis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Two Cheers for Tandil: Pico Joins DelPo in the Top 10!

  1. Candy says:

    Tandil & Club Independiente Rule!!! 😀 Just ♥ this Tandil Bros!
    Hah! Nalby! Having this character there makes it much more interesting for us to read the Arg team & their relationships! 😛 I do think about DC. At this moment, they have two top-10 players, it would have more pressure around them. I start feeling the nerve. 😛

    As for the Games, I’m intrigued to see how Nalby & Edu, Delpo & Dulko would do & what they would achieve there. I don’t get my hope high, but of coz would like to see them do well. Hehe 🙂

    • mariposaxprs says:

      I feel like Tandil should establish another public holiday in honor of this occasion! Why not, right? It’s a small town and they would probably welcome the extra publicity 🙂

      Nalby’s passion for Davis Cup is always an amazing (if dangerous, at times) part of tennis! Pico making top 10 means their chances are possibly better this year, although it could raise interesting questions about which players play the singles ties for DC — I would still pick Nalby over Pico, even if Nalby has been a bit inconsistent this year…

      It’s strange that I’m starting to get even more nervous about the DC SF tie now. I really want DelPo to do well on grass!! It’d be awesome if the Argentinean players medalled — it seems like DelPo & Nalby arrived today in London (I’m not 100% sure, but it seems like DelPo returned to Buenos Aires after Wimby). Let’s hope he does well, and that the draw is not filled with big threats early on!

  2. Iram says:

    r they both org from tandil?

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Yup, DelPo & Pico were both born and raised in Tandil. How crazy is it that Tandil’s total population is around 100,000 people, yet they now have two players in the top 10? I think somebody needs to test their water 🙂

  3. Rita says:

    All I can say is, OLE OLE OLE from the USA. I have tix for the Cincinnati tournament next month and PRAY Delpo will be there. I can’t imagine he’s got THAT many fans in that part of the US. Can’t miss me in my bright blue shirt waving an ARG flag yelling “Vamos Delpo” like a crazy woman.

    • mariposaxprs says:

      That is awesome news, Rita!!! From what I’ve heard, Cincinnati sounds like an awesome tournament for a tennis fan — I certainly hope DelPo will be there, for your sake (and mine, and DelPo fans everywhere)! Please do wear the brightest sky-blue shirt you have and wave an Argentinean flag. I have a guilty confession to make, which is that I’ve yet to purchase an Argentinean flag — I should work on correcting that (*adds item to my to-do list*). Seriously, I look forward to hearing your account of the tournament and I’m happy for you that you get to experience a live Masters tennis tourny. I haven’t attended a live tournament in awhile, and I am green-with-envy right now! Do you know how long you will stay in Cincinnati? Ole ole!

      • Rita says:

        I just saw your reply, I’m not getting email notifications like I should so please check this.
        I plan on taking tons of pix at Cincinnati. I’ll be there as long a Delpo advances thanks to the hospitality of a dear friend who lives 10 minutes from the stadium and promises to watch I don’t make a complete fool of myself should I actually get to meet him.

        • mariposaxprs says:

          Oof, I guess there’s something wrong with the email notification? That’s odd 😦

          That’s great news (re: Cincy)!! It will be awesome getting to stay with a friend while also enjoying DelPo’s matches. I’ve never been to Cincy, but I hear it’s a small-ish city, which means there is a heightened chance of running into DelPo, no? 😉 I’ll keep my hopes up that you do get to meet him!!

Leave a Reply

