Cincinnati: Bumpy Roads Ahead?

Following Toronto (which Novak won, defeating poor Reeshie in straight sets), Tipsy has reclaimed the no. 8 ranking.  While both DelPo and Tipsy defended their Canadian points, DelPo lost his points from last year because he received a bye this year.  This puts Tipsy ahead by 15 points.  Both DelPo and Tipsy are defending R2 points in Cincy.  Looking at the draw, I would cautiously say that DelPo’s chances of reaching the QF are not half-bad (he faces the winner of Nalby-Haas in R2.  If he wins that match, a potentially tough encounter with Lleyton Hewitt, the veteran who keeps rising, looms in R3.  If he wins that one, a potential match with another veteran Roddick, or Muzz, awaits).

Tipsy has a potential clash with Marin Cilic in R3.  I may have overlooked the Marin-ator for the better part of this year, but I am confident in his abilities to make things right.  Make things right, Marin-ator.

DelPo has landed in Cincy, therefore we can safely assume he is ready to play:

Also, I thought I’d share this photo of DelPo in Argentina, with his bronze medal.  Just because.  So many emotions on a blank face:

 

 

 

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Tennis and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cincinnati: Bumpy Roads Ahead?

  1. Rita Richardson says:

    Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!! I finally got to see Delpo in the flesh at 11am on the practice court with Nishikori. He looked tired and thin having arrived yesterday afternoon. I could have reached over the fence and grabbed him, I was that close. I got lots of great pix to share if I can figure out how to upload an entire file; I also shot a brief video. At the end of the hour, he went along the fence signing balls, etc. All I had was my ticket which he autographed. I said, “for the Hinchada” and he smiled!!!!!! I’m going away to die now.

    • mariposaxprs says:

      Ahhhh!!!!!!! So happy for you that you got to see DelPo live, on the first day in Cincy! Thank goodness he arrived there 🙂 Do you have a Twitter account or a photo-sharing page? I would definitely love to see the photos you took and the video as well! I love that DelPo and Kei seem to have a budding friendship right now. They’re Wilson buddies, alright!

      I know how DelPo likes his Hinchada, so he must have been happy to see a big crowd turn out for his practice! I hope you haven’t fainted from nerves though 😀 Do you have any observations of DelPo in close range? 🙂 Were Franco & Martiniano nearby too?

      I wish I could be there in Cincy right now, the whole tourny has a big feel to it already! I hope you’re having loads of fun, and please do share your stories from Cincy, when you have time!!

      • Iram says:

        I am sorry if I’m sounding clueless, but what is “Hinchada?” something in spanish?

        • mariposaxprs says:

          Hi Iram! Hinchada means something like “fan club” in Spanish — I think it’s a word that’s mainly used in South America though, so Spanish people typically don’t say “hinchada.”

          Hope you’re doing well!!

      • Rita says:

        “Hinchada” is loosely translated as fan club. I uploaded my pictures of the practice session on FB which the Para Todos Hinchada has added to their page so you can get them there. I wrote a memoir, too, which I uploaded to my FB page.

        • mariposaxprs says:

          Thank you thank you!! I will definitely be checking those photos out right away! Do you by any chance have a direct link to those pages? If you don’t mind (and when you have the time), could I ask a favor of you to email them to me at janie5jones@yahoo.com?

          I would love to see and read about what you saw in Cincy! You’re still there, right? I hope you get to watch many DelPo matches and that you cheer him on, on behalf of the Hinchada!! 😀

  2. Candy says:

    Ah… Although we had heard that Tipsy would overtake Delpo, I was still a bit (or very) sad when I looked at the ranking & saw Delpo was no.9. 😥

    I also think Delpo can make at least QF at Cincy (or not?! Anti-jinx), but I also think Tipsy can make QF too (unless my good boy Cilic promises me to beat him. He always makes things right for Delpo right? :P). If both Delpo & Tipsy makes to QFs, then Delpo must beat Murray to have a chance of getting no.8 seed at USO. Ah…Ok, we gotta believe our man! Yes!

    • mariposaxprs says:

      I think you’re right! After Cincy is the USO, but the post-USO period is a down time for many players. That means DelPo can make one last push until late September and go all-out at Cincy and the USO, right? I am counting on Marin (just a tiny bit)! Plus, I hope Tipsy doesn’t decide to play Winston-Salem (I could see him doing that though). *If* DelPo and Muzz meet in Cincy, that would be interesting — they haven’t played in a long time — I’m curious if DelPo could play Muzz closer on HC now? I’m thinking yes!

      • Candy says:

        After USO, Delpo still has DC to mind… Of course, Delpo will give it all at USO, but I hope he still has energy to handle DC. (Now it’s pretty sure Rafa won’t play DC Final even if ESP makes it. He’d rather rest his knee, no? So pls ARG, give yourself a chance!)

        I don’t care if Tipsy will play Winston Salem or not since it wouldn’t have any effect on USO seeding.

        Delpo & Andy haven’t met after Delpo’s comeback. Andy has improved a lot, judging by his recent achievements, and Delpo’s working so hard to close the gap, so it would be interesting to see where they are now. 🙂

        • mariposaxprs says:

          That’s true. For Delpo, there are so many things on the plate this year. This year is really the best chance for ARG to do something at DC, so that would be smart if he gave more focus to that.

          If I think about it from a “neutral” point of view, a DelPo-Muzz match up is interesting, especially b/c both players have changed a lot since 2009. From a DelPo fan’s perspective, it’s a scary match-up. Of the top 4 players, I think Fed and Muzz are the trickiest for DelPo, since they’re good at taking away rhythm from him. And they love their dropshots!

          I hope DelPo’s “small hangover” from the Olympics is over. Haas seems like he’s on a bit of a streak right now — since DelPo lost to Steps in Toronto, I’m going to assume he’s finished with losing to the “oldie veterans”? 😉 Let us hope that is so!!

Leave a Reply

