Will DelPo Crash the Pizza Party? Plus, Online Quizzes!

In the run-up to the Barclays London WTF, the ATP has released an “ATP Player Personality Quiz” for fans.  You need a Facebook account to take the quiz, but it’s quite entertaining!

First things first.  I am normally a master at taking online quizzes/magazine quizzes, etc.  Normally, they go like this — let’s say the quiz is “What’s your approach to fitness and health?”  The multiple choice answers are divided into three categories:

A) I never get off my couch.

B) I have a basic workout regimen and I try to eat healthy, but I am not afraid to enjoy a good meal with family and friends every once in awhile.

C) I am a total fitness freak — I have panic attacks if I don’t run my daily half-marathon at dawn.

Clearly, the right answer is B.  There’s no such thing as a quiz with no wrong answers.

Take the “ATP Player Personality Quiz” — the wrong answer is anything that takes you in the direction of Tipsy.

However, the ATP quiz is trickier to ace because there are eight multiple choice options, which means it’s more difficult to find the right answer (which is DelPo, clearly).

Believe me, I tried.  From reading his past interviews, I know DelPo’s favorite hobby is “Surfing the Internet” and that he once vacationed in the Dominican Republic.  I think he also likes watching Entourage and 24.  He only uses Twitter and Facebook (he doesn’t do Instagram, Google+ and no, he doesn’t  have his own app).  Basically, if you pick the most down-to-earth answer for your questions, you have a great chance of ending up with DelPo’s personality!

I dutifully picked the right answers, except for the “What’s your ideal vacation spot?” question.  I knew Dominican Republic was the right answer, but I couldn’t resist the “French Islands” option.  Who could turn down an ideal vacation in the French Islands, right?  I thought since my other answers were DelPo-esque, that I’d definitely end up with DelPo as my player personality.

So obvious, right?  Wrong.

Just in case you were wondering who DelPo plays tomorrow in the Basel final…

Apologies to DelPo, I will try harder to ace the quiz next year!

Mostly, I found it entertaining to see the various folks on Twitter react with horror/despair at their personality match-ups, especially the people who did the predictable “I’m so disgusted, I ended up with Federer!” bit.  Puh-leez, do you think Fed is hopping with joy at the thought of being associated with any one of you peons?!  Pfft.

Still, I will try harder next year to get the DelPo option 😛

***

DelPo defeated Gasquet resoundingly in straight sets, 6-2 6-2 to reach the Basel final.

This is DelPo’s second consecutive final and his second 500-level final this year.  He lost to Fed in Rotterdam earlier this year.  Their last match-up was that astounding Olympic SF match (where DelPo lost 17-19 in the third set, after 4h 26m of play).

With his win over Gasquet, DelPo now has 61 wins this season (61-14 this year).

One interesting tidbit: Fed says Basel is a faster court than Rotterdam, where he defeated DelPo.  I’d say this slightly tips the balance in Fed’s favor, although DelPo has his chances to claim the advantage if he serves well.

In Fed’s post-SF presser (he defeated Mathieu to reach the final), he said DelPo would return to the player he was once was, and that DelPo was playing his best tennis since his injury in 2009-10.  That’s reassuring news, for sure.

In Gasquet’s post-match presser, he mentioned it was difficult for him to trouble DelPo with his famed one-handed BH, because DelPo was tall and he was also good at neutralizing that shot.  Gasquet then said that he wasn’t quite sure whether or not DelPo was back to his 2009 level — he said DelPo would need to defeat Fed or Novak, before anyone said that.

Given DelPo’s slightly unfortunate draw at the Paris Masters (and also given his questionable scheduling decisions, which means he’s less than likely to be in optimal condition at the Paris Masters), I hope he takes full advantage of his chance to finally defeat Fed this year.  I’ll update with an overview of the Basel final after it takes place.  Vamos DelPo!

About mariposaxprs

I play favorites with Juan Martin Del Potro, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, David Ferrer, Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon and the long line of mercurial talent that drives me to despair in front of the screen at odd hours during the week.
This entry was posted in Tennis and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Will DelPo Crash the Pizza Party? Plus, Online Quizzes!

  1. Mark says:

    Definitely imagine that which you said. Your favourite justification appeared to be at the net the easiest thing to take into accout of.

    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed whilst people think about concerns that they just do not
    know about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and also outlined out the entire
    thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal.
    Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

  2. Candy says:

    Show-off: My result of the ATP Player Personality Quiz: Juan Martin del Potro. 😛 http://i.imgur.com/0n9el.jpg (I think the right answer for “idea vacation spot” is “Mexico”?!)

    • mariposaxprs says:

      I got an A- on my quiz. You got the A+ —- I’m jealous, lol! I was so confident that I would get DelPo. It was like taking a quiz where I know I got one answer wrong, but I was almost certain I got everything else right, so I was expecting 99%, but I end up with something else 😦

      I remember reading the Tennis Space interview, and I think a lot of his answers ended up being fed into the questions on the ATP Player Personality Quiz (http://www.thetennisspace.com/exclusive-interview-with-juan-martin-del-potro/)

      I considered the Mexico option, but then I thought maybe Ferru liked Mexico, b/c he’s a 3-time champ in Acapulco? Then again, what would I know, I ended up with not-DelPo!!!

      • Candy says:

        I read that article too. I remember I couldn’t stop laughing when I imagined quiet Delpo singing songs like Born In The U.S.A. and Dancing In The Dark. Hahaha! He must be like a crazy guy in Karaoke! Lol

        Yes, he had a vacation in Dominican Republic, but he also had one in Mexico not long ago too, no? Also, he likes staying in his own world, so I think Mexico, a South American country, is the right answer?! A Spanish-speaking country where it’s not too far away from his home is the ideal spot for his relaxing vacation?! 😀
        (We’re like a study group discussing quiz’s questions! Lol Good students!)

        • mariposaxprs says:

          DelPo is totally the quiet guy who suddenly turns dramatic when it’s karaoke time 🙂 Everyone’s singing happy pop songs, but he comes out with a serious ballad and he takes it *way too seriously,* haha. I bet he’d even dig up his leather jacket, just for the occasion.

          I really like that about DelPo’s personality, that even though he has a GS & he’s famous at home, that he seems to prefer to stay in his own world — although I wouldn’t mind if he decided to become a “breakout star” in Asia — there are so many fun commercial opportunities for him in Asia, no?

Leave a Reply

